Last Sunday of Advent

advent4

Readings

Psalms 80:1-8, (and 18-end)
OT Reading: Isaiah 7:10-16
NT Reading: Romans 1:1-7
Gospel: Matthew 1:18-end

advent4b

I didn’t have the opportunity to visit a liturgical church this week (and indeed have not been able to for a long time, and who knows what the new year will bring? It does not seem to be a likely option for me, since I need to take my mum wherever she decides suits her).

I will continue to read the set readings and post my notes. Today, though, I drew a blank. My brain just did not seem to be able to connect the passages or make any sense of them, so I offer this sermon link which explains it all as illustrating “how to live the holy life”:

http://www.episcopalchurch.org/library/sermon/4th-sunday-advent-year-sermon-day

advent4a

The fact that the 4th Sunday of Advent is supposed to represent love (where the first 3 weeks represented hope, peace and joy) emphasises for me the fact that that Kingdom life is primarily to be characterised by Love above all things.

advent4c

Leave a Reply

