How Illness has Affected Me

I’m sharing this as Shepherdess for the King is my friend (and I didn’t know you had a ‘Shepherdess’ blog!) And also because ME is one of my diagnoses too, which has prevented me from pursuing my calling too. I have been told by two other pentecostal friends this week that I mustn’t say that I’m ill, because saying it makes me ill. I utterly reject such simplistic thinking. And no, it’s not because we lack faith that we’re being tried in the furnace of infirmity. Please, please have more compassion and kindness than to say such things to sick Christians. Blessings, Shepherdess x

Shepherdess for the King

I don’t often talk about the illnesses I live with but for today I am. Before I became ill, I was an active mum and minister. I enjoyed taking the boys out on walks in the woods, countryside, and fields. I loved watching them explore and we always brought home acorns, twigs, pine cones, etc. in little sandwich bags. I enjoyed working with children. I loved planning programmes and crafts and then spending time getting to know the children in our church. I taught Sunday School, Junior Soldiers, worked at summer camps, etc. I also enjoyed teaching/preaching. I am more a teacher than a preacher.

I was quite active with all these things until 2010 when my life changed. I had sinus surgery in March and then later that year I had swine flu. This was also the year I became a British citizen and went to Brengle Holiness Retreat…

View original post 1,037 more words

Leave a Reply

